Symphony in Slippers UnGala

Your Rhapsody in Blue encore is available to stream on-demand

ENCORE VIEWING—To view the Symphony in Slippers UnGala presentation, FREE and on-demand, please click this link.

To support California Symphony with a one-time gift OR join as a Patreon member at $5, $20, or $100 per month, visit here.


  • This year, in place of our usual glitzy and glamorous gala affair, we present a shelter-in-place Symphony in Slippers UnGala, free to all to view online and from the comfort of your couch.
  • Music Director Donato Cabrera is your host for this 60-minute program featuring Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, performed by pianist Andrew Armstrong and California Symphony clarinetist Stephen Zielinski.
  • Join as we reflect on an eventful 19/20 season, thank YOU our community of donors and supporters, and look ahead to a new and different future.

Making Music at Home Fun

We like to do things a little differently...

  • Add comments in the chat window to let us know you're with us
  • Bring your drinks to your seats and stock up on ice cream
  • Phones, tablets and laptops absolutely on!
  • Clap when you like what you hear - why not?

The Program

Music Director Donato Cabrera Executive Director Lisa DellSlippers On and Welcome to the UnGala

MartinoA Set for Solo Clarinet

California SymphonyAn American Orchestra That's Doing Things Differently

Katherine Balch & Viet CuongFrom One Composer-in-Residence to Another

Scott FoglesongProgram Notes

GershwinRhapsody in Blue

Andrew Armstrong & Stephen ZielinskiSoloists in Conversation with Music Director Donato Cabrera

Thank You Supporters!2019/20 Season Highlights