Triumph of the Spirit

**Rescheduled to the 21/22 season. Dates to be confirmed.**

The Lesher Center for the Arts

1 hour and 50 minutes, with intermission

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Celebrated as a musical genius, Shostakovich enjoyed a brilliant career until he fell out of favor with Stalin in 1936. The composer responded with the phenomenally powerful Fifth Symphony.
  • A tale of two Jennifers: Concertmaster Jennifer Cho takes center stage for composer Jennifer Higdon’s Pulitzer prize-winning violin concerto. The awards committee hailed it as “a deeply engaging piece that combines flowing lyricism with dazzling virtuosity.”
  • The program includes a world premiere by our newest composer-in-residence, Viet Cuong, whose music has been acclaimed as “wildly alluring” and “inventive” by the New York Times.

The Program

CuongWorld Premiere

HigdonViolin Concerto

ShostakovichSymphony No. 5

Featured Artists

Music Director, Donato Cabrera

Jennifer Cho, violin