Special Online Presentation with Alexi Kenney

LIVE through May 31—For 19/20 season donors and patrons

At your home, wherever you may be

Approx 90 minutes, with no intermission

COVID Safety

What’s Interesting About This Event

  • This livestream was available free to 19/20 donors and ticket holders, May 24 through May 31, 2020.
  • For the first time in California Symphony’s history, we present an online premiere featuring live recordings by violinist Alexi Kenney from his home in Palo Alto, plus interviews with Music Director Donato Cabrera in San Francisco.
  • Audience favorite Alexi Kenney made his California Symphony debut in January 2018 performing the Bruch Violin Concerto No.1.  He has earned wide-spread acclaim for his insightful and artistic interpretations, as well as his inspired programming, often melding the new with the old, the familiar with the obscure. A recipient of a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award and an Avery Fisher Career Grant, he was named “a talent to watch” by The New York Times.

The Program

Piazzolla Tango Etude No. 1 for solo flute or violin

Joe HisaishiTheme from Princess Mononoke

Du Yun"under a tree: an udātta” for violin and tape

Clara SchumannRomance for Violin and Piano

Joni MitchellBlue

SchubertIntroduction and Variations on "Trockne Blumen"

GeminianiPrelude for solo violin

Hildegard von BingenAve Generosa

J.S. BachChaconne from Partita No. 2 in D minor

Featured Artists

Artistic and Music Director, Donato Cabrera

Alexi Kenney, violin