Mozart and his Mentor

Haydn's last symphony and Mozart's first

The Lesher Center for the Arts

1 hour 50 minutes, with intermission

COVID Safety

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • This program features Mozart’s first symphony, which he wrote at age eight and Haydn’s final symphony, written when Haydn was 63.
  • Mozart and Haydn became fast friends in Vienna in the 1780s. Although Haydn was 24 years Mozart’s senior and his mentor, Haydn’s later works–including Symphony No. 104 on this program–were in turn influenced by the young prodigy.
  • A California Concerto: Kevin Puts, California Symphony Composer-in-Residence alum (1996-1999), was commissioned by Bay Area philanthropists to write this flute concerto. The Bay Area’s Annie Wu performs it here.

The Program

MozartSymphony No. 1

Puts Flute Concerto

HaydnSymphony No. 104

Featured Artists

Music Director, Donato Cabrera

Annie Wu, flute