Firebirds of a Feather

**Rescheduled to the 21/22 season. Dates to be confirmed.**

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Australian composer Melody Eötvös drew inspiration for Saqqara Bird from an ancient Egyptian artifact which looks like a toy but which could be related to early experiments in aviation.
  • Grammy-winner and former California Symphony composer-in-residence Mason Bates wrote this cello concerto to showcase the incredible talents of long-time friend and featured artist Joshua Roman.
  • The Birds was written by Respighi in the twentieth century but sounds like it could have been penned two hundred years earlier by Vivaldi or J.S. Bach.
  • Based on a Russian fairy tale, Firebird Suite was Stravinsky’s breakthrough hit and an instant smash with audiences and critics alike.

Making Concerts Fun

This isn’t your grandma’s orchestra! We like to do things a little differently...

  • Free pre-concert talk with Maestro Cabrera begins an hour before the show
  • Bring your drinks to your seats
  • Phones on and silent allowed
  • Clap when you like what you hear

The Program

EötvösSaqqara Bird

BatesCello Concerto

RespighiGli uccelli (The Birds)

StravinskyFirebird Suite

Featured Artists

What You'll Hear