A joyous and soul-soothing start to the season

What’s Interesting About This Program

  • A contemporary of Mozart and a student of Haydn (who rented the attic of her family’s home as a young man), Mariana Martines was a prominent composer in 18th century Vienna, who received more acclaim than perhaps any other female composer of her time.
  • The best known and most performed of Beethoven’s piano concertos, The Emperor features virtuosic trills, scales, and lots of drama, played here by soloist Adam Golka. Adam opened California Symphony’s virtual 20/21 season last September with an all-Beethoven program celebrating the composer’s 250th birthday.
  • Written during the darkest moments of WWII, Vaughan Williams composed his Symphony No. 5 to console and heal a nation. Music Director Cabrera has chosen this symphony to do the same for our Bay Area community.

Patrons must be fully vaccinated and masks are required. For details, please visit www.californiasymphony.org/COVIDsafety.  Thank you for your cooperation!

Making Concerts Fun

This isn’t your grandma’s orchestra! We like to do things a little differently...

  • Free pre-concert talk with Maestro Cabrera begins an hour before the show
  • Bring your drinks to your seats
  • Phones on and silent allowed
  • Clap when you like what you hear

The Program

Marianna MartinesSinfonia

BeethovenPiano Concerto No. 5 (Emperor)

Vaughan WilliamsSymphony No.5

Show Support By


Diablo Regional Arts Association Logo

Lesher Foundation Logo