Bravo for #Beethoven250

Encore available through Oct. 9

Online and on Walnut Creek TV

60 minutes

COVID Safety

What’s Interesting About This Concert

This is the first of four FREE virtual concerts in fall 2020, spotlighting fresh performances by featured soloists and California Symphony ensembles. Join 30 minutes ahead of the concert at 6:30 pm PST to hear Maestro Cabrera in conversation with guest artist Adam Golka.

  • This all-Beethoven program with Beethoven specialist Adam Golka celebrates the composer’s 250th birthday, pairing one of Beethoven’s last piano sonatas (#30) with one of his most technically challenging, Waldstein (#21).
  • Before Beethoven, sonatas used to be trivial pieces played in salons and small performance. His 32 sonatas became the first major piano-only cycle worthy of being performed on a concert stage.

This concert is made possible by California Symphony donors, with additional support from a CARES Act grant from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).

The Program

BeethovenSonata No. 30, Opus 109

BeethovenSonata No. 21, Opus 53 (Waldstein)

Featured Artists

Music Director, Donato Cabrera

Adam Golka, piano

Making Concerts at Home Fun

We like to do things a little differently...

  • Pre-concert interview with Maestro Cabrera and guest(s) begins 30 minutes before the show
  • Add comments in the chat window to let us know you're with us, if viewing online
  • Bring your drinks to your seats and stock up on ice cream
  • Clap when you like what you hear - why not?

Deep Dive

Show Sponsors

Hewlett Foundation LogoLesher Foundation Logo

Show Sponsors

Hewlett Foundation LogoLesher Foundation Logo