Brahms Fest

Not one, but two virtuosos

The Lesher Center for the Arts

1 hour and 55 min, with intermission

COVID-19 Safety Policy

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • This all-Brahms celebration kicks off with Hungarian Dances Nos. 6 & 5, lively, fast-paced sprints inspired by traditional folk music of the region.
  • This will be the first time that Music Director Donato Cabrera conducts Brahms Symphony No. 3. The piece was hailed at its premiere as “Brahms’ Eroica,” after Beethoven’s own much loved third symphony.
  • Soloists Kobialka and Herbert were both members of the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra when Music Director Donato Cabrera led the ensemble.

The Program

BrahmsHungarian Dance No. 6

BrahmsHungarian Dance No. 5

Brahms Symphony No. 3

BrahmsConcerto for Violin and Cello

Featured Artists

Music Director, Donato Cabrera

Oliver Herbert, cello

Alina Kobialka, violin

Show Support By

Hartog | Baer | Hand Logo