Hidden Treasures

**Rescheduled to the 21/22 season. Dates to be confirmed.**

What’s Interesting About This Concert

  • Waste not, want not: The rarely performed Overture, Scherzo and Finale was originally going to be Schumann’s second symphony but he repurposed the material to create this piece instead.
  • Price was the first African American woman to achieve national recognition as a symphonic composer. After her death, she quickly faded into obscurity until dozens of her works—including this violin concerto—were recently discovered in Price’s dilapidated  former summer house.
  • Orchestras regularly program Vaughan Williams’ shorter works (and audiences love them), but it’s rare to hear his symphonies performed in the United States. The achingly beautiful, soul-soothing Symphony No.5 conjures images of pastoral scenes and idyllic, English country landscapes.

Making Concerts Fun

This isn’t your grandma’s orchestra! We like to do things a little differently...

  • Free pre-concert talk with Maestro Cabrera begins an hour before the show
  • Bring your drinks to your seats
  • Phones on and silent allowed
  • Clap when you like what you hear

The Program

SchumannOverture, Scherzo, and Finale

PriceViolin Concerto No. 2

Vaughan WilliamsSymphony No. 5

Featured Artists

What You'll Hear